The West Huntspill Players drama club was formed in 1973 by a few local amateur drama enthusiasts. The club has produced an average of two plays per year ever since. We currently have around 35 active members, with several others who generously give their time to help out on production nights and behind the scenes.

We are a small drama club with a well established reputation for quality productions.

We are members of the Somerset Fellowship of Drama and enter our productions in the Phoebe Rees Trophy for Somerset productions.

For a small club, we have done very well in these competitions, having received many nominations and won a number of awards.

On our 4 (or 5) production nights we invariably have a 'full house', with people coming from as far away as Bristol for an evenings entertainment which includes our famous complimentary tea and biscuits.

Our productions have spanned everything from Noel Coward to Charles Dickens, but we like to focus on light-hearted comedies and farces, with plays from the likes of Ray Cooney and Alan Ayckbourn proving popular.

We also occasionally produce a "revue" which includes guest appearances by people from outside the club. The club has also produced one-act plays in the past, and we maintain excellent relationships with other local drama clubs.

We are always happy to welcome new members regardless of age or acting ability. There is always plenty of backstage or front of house work to do, and you will find us a welcoming and friendly group.

The club also has a thriving social scene with meals, skittles evenings and other similar events which are always popular.

Please contact us if you need any more information.

Officers of the Club

As elected at the 2024 Annual General Meeting:

  • Chairperson - June Jenkins
  • Vice Chairperson - Clare Virgo
  • Treasurer - Steve Taylor
  • Secretary - Larry Bennett
  • Committee - Greg Fear, Nick Gardner, Alastair Murray, Matthew Taylor
  • Stage Design & Construction - David Virgo and club members
  • Lighting - Nick Gardner/Sue Bullock
  • Sound - Larry Bennett/Christian Durkin
  • Publicity - Alastair Murray/Jill Woolley
  • Ticketing - Matthew Taylor/Larry Bennett
  • Stage Management - Club members
  • Webmaster - Larry Bennett
  • Balliol Hall Representative - Steve Taylor

Link to the Somerset Fellowship of Drama Website. Click here.


players-awards-696x450 Double
Annual Awards